Right now I'm back at the hotel, enjoying having reliable internet, because I have about a million pictures to show you all!  Last night we said goodbye to our home stay families here in Kritsana, and man, the party did not want to stop!  Dancing, karaoke, presentations from Peace Corps to our families, presentations from us to our families...it was a lovely event.
After the dancing and speeches we ate some, and then there was more dancing, interspersed with karaoke.  My feet hurt for two days afterwards, after all the dancing with kids, young moms holding babies, Kurwan and everyone!  Because I didn't know Peter Paul and Mary's 500 Miles (???) I ended up singing the Cranberry's Zombie, and that went over well.  We stayed until after the tables were being put away, just chatting, dancing, and laughing with one another.
Jane
3/20/2014 08:30:02 am

What a wonderful set of pictures! Thank you so much for sharing.

Reply
pookie
3/21/2014 02:00:02 am

lol, I read the title of this one and all I could think was "mighty fine shindig!" (what Mal says to Inara at the end of the episode "Shindig"?) and I half expected someone to get light-weight stabbed in your recollection of the evening... Conditioning, you know? :)

So you're telling me that all I had to do to get you to participate in karaoke for all these years was sign you up for the peace corps, drag you off to another country, impress upon you how important it is to be part of the team, give you some awesome homestays and then make you say goodbye to them; and you'll sing along like it's the thing to do?! How simple! How did I not know that that's all I had to do to get you to karaoke?

Looks like you had a lot of fun, I'm thoroughly enjoying the pictures and love to hear what you've been up to, even if it is a "late" update. And I love the fact that we have pictures of you dancing! I WILL say a silent "thank you" to Kuhn Suchawadee! They're priceless!

Reply
Sue
3/23/2014 12:19:22 pm

The masking tape you decorated for use as ribbon was so creative and lovely! I'm glad you have had an opportunity to use your singing talents abroad, too!

Reply
Megan
3/25/2014 03:10:17 pm

Did you get a floofy pink dress with ruffles? (I think Deb & I are on the same wavelength.) ;)

Reply
3/29/2014 07:36:17 am

you do such clever things, your gifts & talents are just like Marty's. you look happy, & I'm glad for that. Keep the good thoughts. Love

Reply
Spook S.
3/30/2014 02:07:41 pm

Smile, I was indeed missing Firefly when I wrote this! But we managed to have fun without stabbing or yelling or anything. No floofy dress either; I'd look like a sheep walkin' on its hind legs!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    These are the personal opinions of Spook, and do not reflect those of the Peace Corps.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All